The stunning All Saints Each Horndon church is built of mellow red Tudor brick and stands in magnificent isolation with wide views to the Thames. The Tyrells of nearby Heron Hall rebuilt the Norman church in the fifteenth century and were buried here for four centuries.
Years of decay, theft and vandalism followed until the All Saints Society and the Trust rescued the church in the 1970s. There is an exquisite memorial slab to Lady Alice Tyrell (who died in 1422) and a little chantry containing the tomb of Sir Thomas Tyrell (who died in 1476) and his wife. Also to be seen are curious galleried upper rooms in the transepts, one with a Tudor fireplace which may have housed a resident priest.
All Saints is owned by the Churches Conservation Trust, and looked after by a small team of unpaid volunteers known as the ‘The Friends of All Saints’. The core team manage churchyard maintenance, community events, security & CCTV, and visitor access.
Since the devastating illegal rave which took place at All Saints on New Year’s Eve 2020, security at the church has increased significantly, with 24 hour CCTV and regular security patrols, helping to make All Saints a safe and welcoming place to visit.
Although the church itself is currently closed to the general public, the grounds on which the church are located are open, and the public are very welcome to visit the fascinating churchyard and enjoy the stunning panoramic views of much of London, Kent and Essex. We plan to reinstate visitor access later this year and updates will be posted on our Facebook page.